'BtoB's Media Business' names Top Innovators

Published on .

BtoB's Media Business announced the winners of this year's Top Innovators in Business Publishing Awards in its May issue.

Media Business inaugurated the Top Innovators in 2004 to spotlight b-to-b media executives who are constantly pushing the marketing envelope to create new revenue streams and to keep their customers over the long haul.

"Our annual Media Business Innovators Awards were created to honor those who have impacted our business in a truly innovative way over the past year, leading their publications, companies, Web sites and departments in ways that all of us in the publishing business can learn from," said Bob Felsenthal, publisher of BtoB and Media Business.

He added: "With 18 winners from 17 different companies, this year's choices are truly a cross section of the best in our business. With the current focus on change in the media world, our group of CEO innovators is particularly successful in leading companies to multichannel media options for readers and marketing solutions for advertisers."

Awards are given in six categories: top executive, publisher, editor, online, circulation and production. The categories are divided into three divisions: large trade, small trade (less than $200 million in annual revenue) and general business.

This year's winners are:

Top Executive

Large: Steve Weitzner, president-CEO, CMP Media

Small: Bill Pollak, president-CEO, ALM

General: Jim Spanfeller, president-CEO,


Large: Peter Goldstone, president, Hanley Wood Magazines

Small: Anne Armstrong, publisher-business unit leader, FCW Media Group

General: Kevin Quinlan, publisher-president, CFO Publishing Corp.


Large: Patricia Panchak, editor in chief, IndustryWeek and

Small: Derek Slater, editor in chief, CSO

General: Bill Grueskin, managing editor,


Large: Mike Azzara, senior VP-Internet business, CMP Media

Small: David Newcorn, VP-new media, Summit Publishing

General: Martin Nisenholtz, senior VP-digital operations, New York Times Co.


Large: Francis Heid, VP-media operations, Advanstar Communications

Small: Steve Gardberg, fulfillment director, The Deal LLC

General: Doug Morrow, VP-operations & business development, Financial Times (the Americas)


Large: Keith Hammerbeck, director-manufacturing services, Advanstar Communications

Small: Louise Morrin Boyle, VP-production & manufacturing, Haymarket Media

General: Ann Sheridan, production director, Time Inc. Business and Finance Group

Most Popular
In this article: