Once registered, you can:

  • - Read additional free articles each month
  • - Comment on articles and featured creative work
  • - Get our curated newsletters delivered to your inbox

By registering you agree to our privacy policy, terms & conditions and to receive occasional emails from Ad Age. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Are you a print subscriber? Activate your account.


How to get certified as a Six Sigma expert

By Published on .

Six Sigma experts are certified by the American Society for Quality, an organization that provides education, testing and certification to recognize professionals in the field of quality management and processes.

There are four levels of certification available for Six Sigma experts:

n Executives-Senior management leaders that communicate, lead and direct the company's overall objectives toward a successful and profitable Six Sigma deployment.

n Champions-Upper-level managers who lead the implementation efforts of Six Sigma projects.

n Black Belts-Professionals who implement the principles, practices and techniques of Six Sigma.

n Green Belts-Professionals who lead and execute process-level improvement projects.

To be certified as a Six Sigma expert, professionals must take training programs, offered through ASQ and other training organizations.

Information on training and certification programs is available at www.isixsigma.com, a free online resource about Six Sigma. -Kate Maddox

Most Popular
In this article: