Farm Journal Media wins ABM's Grand Neal

By Published on .

Farm Journal Media and a collection of its publications last month received the Grand Neal Award during American Business Media's 57th Annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards ceremony in New York. The company's AgDay, AgWeb, Farm Journal, Dairy Today, Top Producer and U.S. Farm Report won collectively for “The Farm Journal Legacy Project.” Farm Journal Media also was an individual winner in the category of Best Integrated Package. According to ABM, this was the first time in the award program's history that a winner in this category has been named a Grand Neal winner. Other Grand Neal finalists were: Agent's Sales Journal, Summit Business Media, for the article “Social Media Boot Camp”; Aquatics International, Hanley Wood, for the article “The Enemy Within”; and Engineering News-Record, McGraw-Hill Cos., for the article “Award of Excellence Winner: John Hillman.” Among publishers winning multiple Neal awards were McGraw-Hill Cos. (six), ALM (five), Hanley Wood (four), IEEE (four), Advanstar (three) and Crain Communications Inc. (two). The ABM also presented the G.D. Crain and Timothy White awards as well as the McAllister Fellowship. Wyatt Kash, content director-editor at large at 1105 Media-Events, received the G.D. Crain Award, given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to editorial excellence. The award is named for G.D. Crain Jr., founder of Crain Communications Inc., which publishes Media Business. Christopher Crain, group publisher of several Crain Communications publications, presented the award to Kash. Gary Thill, editor of Aquatics International, took home the Timothy White Award, presented annually to an editor who displays courage, integrity and passion. It is named for the former editor of Billboard, who died in 2002. Jane Kolleeny, managing editor of GreenSource, won the McAllister Editorial Fellowship, which promotes the study of business media by placing fellows as teachers and advisers on the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. The fellowship is named for Donald McAllister Sr., longtime CEO of Geyer-McAllister Publications.
Most Popular
In this article: