‘Farm Journal’ wins Grand Neal Award

Published on .

New York—Farm Journal, the flagship publication of Farm Journal Media, won the Grand Neal Award at Thursday’s 52nd annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards.

The monthly magazine captured the top prize for its series of articles titled “Asian Soybean Rust Takes Root in the U.S.” The articles chronicled the hardship U.S. farmers have faced because of the funguslike disease, which wipes out soybeans.

IEEE Media’s IEEE Spectrum won first and second runner-up for its articles “China’s Tech Revolution” and “Who Killed the Virtual Case File?”

IDG captured three awards, two for CSO magazine and one for Ziff Davis garnered two awards, one for Baseline and the other for CIO Insight. Advertising Age, which, like BtoB, is owned by Crain Communications Inc., won two Neal Awards, including best news coverage among dailies and weeklies that have more than $7 million in annual revenue.

Joe Hanson, founder of Folio:, and currently chairman of the Professional Media Group, was selected as the recipient of the 2006 Crain Award. The award, named after G.D. Crain Jr., the founder of Crain Communications Inc., is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in business media.

Scott Donaton, editor of Advertising Age, won the McAllister Editorial Fellowship. There was no winner this year for the Timothy White Award for editorial integrity, named after the late editor of Billboard.

—Matthew Schwartz

Most Popular
In this article: