Once registered, you can:

  • - Read additional free articles each month
  • - Comment on articles and featured creative work
  • - Get our curated newsletters delivered to your inbox

By registering you agree to our privacy policy, terms & conditions and to receive occasional emails from Ad Age. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Are you a print subscriber? Activate your account.

MediaCom Wins Agency Network of the Year at Festival of Media

MPG Mexico, Financial Times Also Earn Top Honors in Valencia

By Published on .

NEW YORK (AdAge.com) -- WPP's MediaCom was named Agency Network of the Year at the second annual Festival of Media Awards in Valencia, Spain, last night. Agency of the year honors went to Havas' MPG Mexico and the Financial Times took home the Media Owner of the Year award.

Jack Klues of Publicis Groupe's Vivaki (left, with Patience Wheatcroft of the Wall Street Journal) was named Media Professional of the Year.
Jack Klues of Publicis Groupe's Vivaki (left, with Patience Wheatcroft of the Wall Street Journal) was named Media Professional of the Year.
Unfortunately for the winners, this year's festival will probably be remembered less for who took home what prize and more for the nightmarish travel experiences many attendees had to endure just to make it to Valencia because of the clouds of ash from an Icelandic volcano that all but shut down European air travel.

Among the night's other winners were Jack Klues of Publicis Groupe's Vivaki, who was named Media Professional of the Year, and U.K. communications agency Manning Gottlieb OMD, which garnered the People's Award for its work on the campaign "It Doesn't Have to Happen; Knife Crime." The People's Award is voted on by both the global advertising community and the delegates at the festival.

Ad Age is a sponsor of the awards.

The panel of 30 judges deciding on this year's winners was made up of media agency CEOs and marketing and communications executives from some of the world's biggest agencies and marketers, including Nigel Morris, CEO North America at Aegis; Maarten Albarda, VP-global connections at Anheuser-Busch InBev; Barbara Cipolla, global CMO of OMD; Nigel Conway, head of global media communications at Nestle; and Andrea Newman, group head of advertising, group marketing at HSBC.

Other awards and winners included: The Creative Use of Media Award, which went to the recently shut down Farfar/ Isobar for "The World's Largest Signpost" for Nokia; OMD Singapore for best use of Digital Landscape for Intel Swarm; OMD U.K. was awarded Best Use of Mobile for "Mobile Make Up Mate" for Coty; Best Targeted campaign went to MediaCom U.S. for "GSK Teams with Drag Queens"; OMD U.S. collected the Best Communications/Entertainment Platform for "Reese's Perfect Xbox Live Halloween" event; and Yahoo won the Media Innovation of the Year Award for Consumer Connect.

Most Popular
In this article: