Once registered, you can:

  • - Read additional free articles each month
  • - Comment on articles and featured creative work
  • - Get our curated newsletters delivered to your inbox

By registering you agree to our privacy policy, terms & conditions and to receive occasional emails from Ad Age. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Are you a print subscriber? Activate your account.


Published on .

For an industry normally full of praise for others in print, voice and screen advertising, the Advertising Research Foundation Awards take a different approach.

The David Ogilvy Awards, now in its third year, and Richard L. Lysaker Prize, now in its fourth, recognize research excellence in the ad process.

"Overall, the application for an Ogilvy Award must evaluate how successful the ad was," says Ted Dunn, ARF technical consulting director. "It must demonstrate changes in sales and behavior resulting from the advertising. Applicants must demonstrate dollar or market share gain."


Presentations of the Ogilvy Awards this year at the 60th annual ARF conference are scheduled for 11 a.m., March 12, at the New York Hilton.

As a prelude to the Ogilvy presentations, finalists will review the advertising they've submitted plus the research behind the submissions.

Handling the overview this year is master of ceremonies James D. Speros, director-corporate advertising and brand management for AT&T Corp. The chairwoman of the Ogilvy Awards Committee, Lorna Opatow, president of Opatow Associates, will explain the judging process.

ARF President Michael J. Naples will present the Ogilvys, which this year include the David Ogilvy Trophy, two Gold Medallions and three honorable mentions. Also to be presented are four Silver Certificate awards, one each demonstrating the best application of research in developing strategy, guidance to creative and execution, copy pretesting and media selection.


ARF cites David Ogilvy as the name source because of his insistence on research as an integral part of developing the advertising industry since he founded Ogilvy & Mather in 1949.

Last year's Ogilvy trophy went to the team of Dannon Co., Grey Advertising, Marketplace Measurement Worldwide and Ambrosino Research.

The '95 Gold Medallions went to SmithKline Beecham Consumer Healthcare and Ogilvy & Mather, New York; and to Oscar Mayer Foods Corp. and J. Walter Thompson Co., New York.

Judges for the 1996 Ogilvy Awards are Mr. Dunn; Mr. Naples; O. Burtch Drake, president, American Association of Advertising Agencies; Stephen A. Greyser, Harvard Business School professor; Leonard M. Lodish, University of Pennsylvania Wharton School professor; John J. Sarsen Jr., Association of National Advertisers president; and Ruth Wooden, Advertising Council president.

The Lysaker prize presentation for the best research paper is set for 4:45 p.m. on March 11.


"The Lysaker prize," explains Mr. Dunn, "is presented for developmental research that leads to ways that help improve measurement of media."

No paper was selected to receive the prize in 1994. Audits & Surveys contributes the $10,000 prize in memory of Richard L. Lysaker, its president from 1978 to 1991. Mr. Lysaker was the principal force behind development of the ARF Gold Standard, a validated first-time-read-yesterday technique for measuring magazine readership.

While high costs now limit wide use, the Gold Standard is used to develop affordable, more accurate survey methods.

Most Popular
In this article: