Alex Bogusky, Jeff Goodby to Co-Chair Ad Age's Small Agency Award Judging

Submission Deadline Shifted to May 26

By Published on .

Alex Bogusky and Jeff Goodby will join the Ad Age Small Agency Diary bloggers as judges of the upcoming Small Agency Awards.

Both had a hand in inspiring the creation of the awards. In conversation with Ad Age staff, Jeff Goodby, co-chairman of San Francisco-based Goodby, Silverstein & Partners, has been critical of Ad Age's annual Agency A-List, saying it doesn't reflect the great work being done by smaller shops. Alex Bogusky, the Boulder, Colo.-based co-chairman of Crispin Porter & Bogusky, has also been on record saying that much of the best work by smaller shops is overlooked.

Now both will have a chance to help Ad Age right that wrong with an annual showcase for smaller, regional agencies' campaigns.

Messrs. Goodby and Bogusky will co-chair a judging panel that includes many of the bloggers from Ad Age's popular Small Agency Diary. Among them: Marc Brownstein, president, Brownstein Group, Philadelphia; Bart Cleveland, partner-creative director, McKee Wallwork Cleveland, Albuquerque, N.M.; Andy Gould, senior VP-executive creative director, Biggs/Gilmore, Kalamazoo, Mich.; Phil Johnson, CEO, PJA Advertising & Marketing, Cambridge, Mass.; Milan Martin, president, GyroHSR, New York; Tom Martin, president, Zehnder Communications, New Orleans and Baton Rouge, La.; Millie Olson, co-founder and president, Amazon Advertising, San Francisco; Eric Webber, managing partner, Webber/McJ Communications, Austin, Texas; Doug Zanger, founder-CEO, Xhang Creative, Portland, Ore. (You can check out the bloggers' bios here.)

The awards for agencies with 75 employees or less, are split into two categories: Best Small Agency of the Year and Best Small Agency Campaign of the Year. Regional winners will also be selected. More than 330 agencies have already registered to take part. The deadline for submissions has been extended to May 26. Enter or find out more about the awards here.

Most Popular