40 years of postal reform

Published on .

  • April 1967: President Lyndon Johnson creates the Kappel Commission to study postal reform.
  • June 1968: The Kappel Commission issues its report with recommendations for transforming the Post Office Department.
  • March 1970: Postal workers engage in an illegal strike.
  • Aug. 1970: President Nixon signs Postal Reorganization Act of 1970.
  • July 1971: The U.S. Postal Service begins life as an independent establishment in the executive branch of the government.
  • June 1996: With prospects for declining volumes and increasing costs, Rep. John McHugh, R-N.Y., introduces legislation to reform the Postal Service.
  • Dec. 2002: President Bush creates the President's Commission on the U.S. Postal Service.
  • July 2003: President's Commission issues its report, "Embracing the Future."
  • July 2005: House passes version of a reform bill.
  • Feb. 2006: Senate passes version of reform bill.
  • Dec. 2006: House and Senate pass H.R. 6407, a compromise on the earlier House and Senate versions.
  • Dec. 2006: President Bush signs the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act.
  • June 2008: New rate-setting system to begin.

Source: American Business Media

Most Popular
In this article: