ABM announces Crain, White, McAllister honorees

By Published on .

American Business Media has named this year's recipients of its top three annual awards, which will be handed out at the Jesse H. Neal National Business Awards luncheon March 22 at New York's Waldorf-Astoria.

Deborah Whistler, editorial director of Newport Communications Group, is the recipient of the 2007 Crain Award. The award was established by a grant from the G.D. Crain Jr. Foundation and is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in business media. It is named for G.D. Crain Jr., founder of Crain Communications Inc., which publishes Media Business.

Whistler, a former daily newspaper reporter and columnist, started her career in business media as a reporter for Heavy Duty Trucking and was eventually named editorial director of all Newport media. With Whistler in charge, Newport won the Grand Neal Award (for Roadstar in 2001), 21 individual category Neal Awards and 12 Certificates of Merit. She has personally won or shared in the Grand Neal, eight Neal Awards and six Certificates of Merit. She has also won 16 American Society of Business Press Editors Awards and 15 Western Publications Association Maggie Awards.

Don Tennant, VP-editor in chief of Computerworld, will receive the Timothy White Award for Editorial Integrity. Tennant, who has been editor in chief of IDG Communications' Computerworld since 2004, joined the U.S. edition of the magazine in 2000. Before that, he spent eight years as editor in chief of the Hong Kong edition.

Tennant won a Neal Award in 2003 for news coverage, and his weekly editorial column has won awards from the American Society of Business Publication Editors and Trade, Association and Business Publications International.

The Timothy White Award, named after the late Billboard editor, recognizes business journalists whose "work demonstrates the integrity, courage and passion that White displayed throughout his career," according to ABM. (Tennant's immediate predecessor at Computerworld, Maryfran Johnson, received the inaugural Timothy White Award in 2004.)

ABM selected Glenn Zorpette, executive editor of IEEE's IEEE Spectrum, as the winner of this year's McAllister Editorial Fellowship. The fellowship promotes the study of b-to-b media by having the recipient spend a week as an adviser to the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. The fellowship is named for Donald McAllister Sr., longtime CEO of Geyer-McAllister Publications.

Zorpette said he's excited about working with college students during a period of incredible changes in journalism, not the least of which is how it is now being defined. "What's got to be on the minds of most of these kids is that when they get out of school they probably won't be drawing a paycheck from the printed word," he said.

In 1993, Zorpette won a National Magazine Award (Ellie) for his IEEE Spectrum article on Iraq's attempt to build an atomic bomb. From 1995 through 2000, he worked at Scientific American, where he was part of an editorial team that won an Ellie for a single-topic issue titled "What You Need to Know about Cancer." He returned to IEEE Spectrum in 2001.

Most Popular
In this article: