ABM names winners of Crain, White and McAllister honors

By Published on .

New York—American Business Media announced Tuesday the winners of the Crain Award, Timothy White Award for Editorial Integrity and McAllister Editorial Fellowship.

Bob Tippee, editor of PennWell Corp.’s Oil & Gas Journal, won the Crain Award, which is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to editorial excellence. The award is named for G.D. Crain Jr., founder of Crain Communications Inc., which publishes BtoB.

Rick Bush, editorial director of Penton Media’s Transmission & Distribution World, won the Timothy White Award, which is given annually to an editor who displays courage, integrity and passion. It is named for the editor of Billboard, who died in 2002.

Bill McDowell, VP-editorial director of Marketing & Technology Group, won the McAllister Editorial Fellowship. Awarded annually, the fellowship promotes the study of business media by placing fellows as teachers and advisers for approximately one week on the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. The fellowship is named for Donald McAllister Sr., longtime CEO of Geyer-McAllister Publications.

The awards will be presented March 11 at the 56th Annual Jesse H. Neal Awards ceremony in New York.

Most Popular
In this article: