ABM's Grand Neal Award goes to IEEE Spectrum

By Published on .

IEEE Spectrum received American Business Media's Grand Neal Award at ABM's 59th Annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards ceremony in New York. The IEEE Media publication was recognized for its story, “A Shocking Truth,” which also gained individual first-place honors in the Best Single Article (Class C) category. Other Grand Neal finalists included McGraw-Hill Cos.' Engineering News-Record for its story “Critical Infrastructure,” an individual winner in the Best Subject Related Series category (Class C); McGraw-Hill Cos.' Aviation Week and Space Technology for “The Balance of Fear: Iran, Israel and the Calculus of War,” which also took first place in the Best Subject-Related Package category (Class C); and Health Forum/American Hospital Association's Hospitals & Health Networks, an individual winner in the Best Subject-Related Series category (Class B). Among publishers winning multiple individual Neal Awards were McGraw-Hill Cos. with 10, Crain Communications Inc. with six, Farm Journal Media with five and Penton Media with four. Also honored at the luncheon was Arnie Weissmann, senior VP-editor in chief of Travel Weekly, who received the 45th annual G.D. Crain Jr. Award, given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to editorial excellence. The award is named for the founder of Crain Communications, which publishes BtoB and Media Business. Christopher Crain, VP at Crain Communications, presented the award. The Timothy White Award for Editorial Integrity, presented to Julie Triedman, senior writer at The American Lawyer, for her 2012 coverage of the collapse of the Dewey & LeBoeuf law firm, the largest law firm bankruptcy in U.S. history. The award, named for the former editor of Billboard who died in 2002, is given to a journalist whose work displays courage, integrity and passion. Matthew Weinstock, senior editor at Hospitals & Health Networks, won the McAllister Editorial Fellowship, which promotes the study of business media by placing fellows as teachers and advisers on the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. It is named for Donald McAllister Sr., longtime CEO of Geyer-McAllister Publications. BtoB garnered two of the four finalist slots for Best Single Issue of a Tabloid/Newspaper category, midsize division. Honored were BtoB's March 12 and May 14, 2012, issues, in the division won by MedTech Media's Healthcare IT News. For a complete list of winners and finalists, click here. Winners are in bold in each category.
Most Popular
In this article: