'Heavy Duty Trucking' wins Grand Neal Award

By Published on .

Newport Communications' Heavy Duty Trucking took top honors last month at American Business Media's 55th Annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards. The magazine's 50-plus-page report, “Fuel Crisis Survival” (June 2008) received the Grand Neal Award at the March 19 ceremony at the Rainbow Room in New York. Heavy Duty Trucking also won a Grand Neal in 2001. In accepting this year's award, Deborah Whistler, editorial director, recognized the entire Heavy Duty Trucking team for putting together the fuel crisis package in only three weeks. When diesel fuel prices spiked above $5 a gallon last spring, Whistler decided to scrap Heavy Duty Trucking's traditional format for the very next issue and to devote it entirely to stories that would help truckers cope with the crisis. “We didn't run any of our usual departments or product stories,” she said, noting that publisher Kate Miller and her sales staff not only embraced the last-minute change but made the issue the top seller of the year. The package looked at escalating fuel prices and the implications of that from many angles, from the worldwide economic and political causes to specific tactics truckers and fleet owners could use to increase fuel efficiency. “One of the final judges came up to me afterward to tell me how fascinated he was by one particular story,” Whistler said. “It was about a driver who took a bug screen off the front of his cab to see if it would save fuel. He got a fuel economy improvement of 1%, which is huge in this industry. He told the company president, who performed a more scientific test and proved the driver was right. This change saved the company $1 million.” The runners-up for the Grand Neal were: McGraw-Hill's Engineering News-Record; Crain Communications Inc.'s Financial Week; and Nielsen Business Media's Photo District News. Among other Neal Awards honorees were: ? Robert Ivy, VP-editorial director of McGraw-Hill Construction Media, who was selected as the 41st Annual G.D. Crain Award winner. ABM's Crain Award is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in business media. The award is named for G.D. Crain Jr., founder of Crain Communications Inc., which publishes BtoB. ? James E. Prevor, founder and editor in chief of Produce Business and CEO of Phoenix Media Network, who received the 2009 Timothy White Award for Editorial Integrity. The award is named for the late editor of Billboard. ? Tudor Van Hampton, Midwest bureau chief of Engineering News-Record, was named 2009 McAllister Editorial Fellow. The McAllister Editorial Fellowship, awarded annually, promotes the study of business media by placing fellows as teachers and advisers for approximately one week on the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. The fellowship is named for Donald McAllister Sr., who was the longtime CEO of Geyer-McAllister Publications. Below are the Neal Award winners in the individual categories*: Best single article ? Aquatics International, “Infectious Fun?” (Hanley Wood) ? Pharmaceutical Executive, “Fight Resistance” (Advanstar Communications) ? Engineering News-Record, “Higher Learning” (McGraw-Hill Cos.) -Best subject-related series of articles ? Financial Week, “Special Report: Retirement Benefits” (Crain Communications Inc.) ? Multifamily Executive, “Myth Busters” (Hanley Wood) ? Engineering News-Record, “Extreme Construction” (McGraw-Hill Cos.) Best staff-written editorials or opinion columns ? Financial Week, Editorials (Crain Communications Inc.) ? Workforce Management, “The Last Word” (Crain Communications Inc.) ? Automotive News, Editorials (Crain Communications Inc.) Best department ? Big Builder, “Starts” (Hanley Wood) ? Government Computer News, “GCN Lab” (1105 Media) ? HR Magazine, “HR News” (Society for Human Resource Management) Best how-to article or subject-related series of how-to articles ? Motor, “Tire Match Mounting & Custom Wheel Handling” (Hearst Business Media) ? The Journal of Family Practice, “10 Derm Mistakes You Don't Want to Make” (Lebhar-Friedman Inc./Dowden Health Media) ? Macworld, “Empty Your Inbox” (IDG/ Mac Publishing) Best news coverage ? Financial Week, “Credit Crunch” (Crain Communications Inc.) ? Counselor, “CorpLogoWare News” (Advertising Specialty Institute) ? Engineering News-Record, “Momentum Intensifies for Crane Safety Programs” (McGraw-Hill Cos.) Best single theme or special issue of a magazine or newspaper/news tabloid ? Plate, “The Bacon Issue” (Marketing & Technology Group) ? Heavy Duty Trucking, “Fuel Crisis Survival” (Newport Communications Group) ? Automotive News, “How General Motors Changed the World” (Crain Communications Inc.) Best single issue of a magazine ? CSO, February 2008 issue (IDG/CXO Media) ? Photo District News, “The Book Issue” (Nielsen Business Media) ? Architectural Record, November 2008 issue (McGraw-Hill Cos.) Best single issue of a newspaper/news tabloid ? Financial Week, Sept. 22, 2008, issue (Crain Communications Inc.) ? DVM Newsmagazine, July 2008 issue (Advanstar Communications) ? Advertising Age, Oct. 13, 2008, issue (Crain Communications Inc.) Best start-up publication ? EcoHome, Hanley Wood Best e-newsletter No awards given Best use of video ? Engineering News-Record/, “Construction Comes to Life” (McGraw-Hill Cos.) Best Web site ? Financial Week, (Crain Communications Inc.) ? Architectural Record, (McGraw-Hill Cos.) ? (CNET Networks) Best online article or series ?, “The CSO Disclosure Series” (IDG/CXO Media) ?, “Record Reveals: Boston” (McGraw-Hill Cos.) ?, “100 Best Places to Work in IT 2008” (IDG/Computerworld) Best blog ?, “PDNPulse,” Nielsen Business Media ?, “Ares” (McGraw-Hill Cos.) ?, “Apple Ink” (IDG/Computerworld) * Note: Winners are listed by category: small, medium and large.
Most Popular
In this article: