"IEEE Spectrum' repeat winner of Grand Neal Award

By Published on .

IEEE Media's IEEE Spectrum received the Grand Neal Award at American Business Media's 56th Annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards ceremony last month in New York. IEEE Spectrum won for the article, “Why Mars? Why Now?” and was also an individual winner in the category of Best Subject-related Series of Articles. The coverage appeared in the magazine's June 2009 issue. IEEE Spectrum, which won the Grand Neal Award in 2007 for the two-part series “Re-engineering Iraq,” took home another Neal Award this year for best Web site in the larger-magazine category. Bob Tippee, editor of PennWell Corp.'s Oil & Gas Journal, was selected as the winner of the 42st annual G.D. Crain Award. ABM's Crain Award is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in business media. The award is named for G.D. Crain Jr., founder of Crain Communications Inc., which publishes BtoB. Rick Bush, editorial director of Penton Media's Transmission & Distribution World, took home the Timothy White Award, presented annually to an editor who displays courage, integrity and passion. It is named for the former editor of Billboard, who died in 2002. Bill McDowell, VP-editorial director of Marketing & Technology Group, won the McAllister Editorial Fellowship, which promotes the study of business media by placing fellows as teachers and advisers on the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. It is named for Donald McAllister Sr., longtime CEO of Geyer-McAllister Publications. A complete list of this year's Neal Award winners can be found at M
Most Popular
In this article: