Lehrer to scale back duties at 'PBS NewsHour'

Published on .

Arlington, Va.—Jim Lehrer announced, effective June 6, he will no longer be a regular daily anchor on the “PBS NewsHour.” The multianchor team of Gwen Ifill, Judy Woodruff, Jeffrey Brown, Ray Suarez and Margaret Warner will continue hosting the program on a rotating basis. This step continues the evolution of the program, which changed its name in 2009 from “The NewsHour With Jim Lehrer” to the “PBS NewsHour.” Lehrer will continue to appear on the show on Fridays to moderate discussions with syndicated columnist Mark Shields and New York Times columnist David Brooks. The “PBS NewsHour”" airs on more than 315 PBS stations in the U.S. Sponsors of the program include BNSF Railway, Chevron, Intel Corp. and Pacific Life.
Most Popular
In this article: