'Media Business' names Top Innovators

Published on .

BtoB's Media Business announced the winners of this year's Top Innovators in Business Publishing Awards in its May issue.

Media Business inaugurated the Top Innovators awards last year to recognize publishing professionals who've found new ways to generate revenue, different methods to cut costs and alternative approaches to inspire employees to do both.

"Our annual Media Business Innovator awards were created to honor those who have impacted our business in a truly innovative way over the past year, leading their publications, companies, Web sites and departments in ways that all of us in the publishing business can learn from," said Bob Felsenthal, publisher of BtoB and Media Business. "This year's choices are a truly distinguished group of the best in our business."

Awards are given in six categories: top executive, publisher, editor, production, circulation and online. The categories are broken into three divisions: large trade, small trade (less than $125 million in annual revenue) and general business.

This year's winners are:

Top Executive

  • Large: Mike Wood, CEO, Hanley Wood
  • Small: Greg Strakosch, CEO, TechTarget
  • General: Peter Kann, chairman-CEO, Dow Jones & Co.


  • Large: Edward Menicheschi, president, WWD Media Worldwide, Fairchild Publications
  • Small: Norm Kamikow, president-editor in chief, MediaTec Publishing
  • General: Geoffrey Dodge, senior VP-publisher, North America, BusinessWeek


  • Large: Aric Press, editor in chief, The American Lawyer, ALM
  • Small: Deborah Whistler, editorial director, Heavy Duty Trucking, Newport Communications
  • General: Josh Quittner, editor, Business 2.0, Time Inc.


  • Large: John Blanchard, VP-manufacturing, Reed Business Information
  • Small: Rich Zweiback, corporate director of manufacturing, Lebhar-Friedman
  • General: Chris Olson, VP-manufacturing operations & distribution, McGraw-Hill Cos.


  • Large: Gloria Adams, director-corporate audience development, PennWell Publishing
  • Small: Jim Wessel, circulation director, Watt Publishing
  • General: Tom Masterson, VP-worldwide circulation, McGraw-Hill Cos.


  • Large: Barry Briggs, COO, CNET Networks
  • Small: Alan Meckler, chairman-CEO, Jupitermedia Corp.
  • General: Jim Spanfeller, president-CEO,
Most Popular
In this article: