'Media Business' names Top Innovators

Published on .

BtoB's Media Business announced the winners of this year's Top Innovators in Business Publishing Awards in its May issue. See the full list Media Business inaugurated the Top Innovators in 2004 to spotlight b-to-b media executives who, in a rapidly changing environment, are constantly creating new products and services to build their audiences and generate revenue. “Our annual Media Business Innovators Awards were created to honor those who have impacted our business in a truly innovative way over the past year, leading their publications, companies, Web sites and departments in ways that all of us in the publishing business can learn from,” said Bob Felsenthal, publisher of BtoB and Media Business. He added: “With 12 winners from 10 different companies, this year's choices are truly a cross section of the best in our business. With the current focus on change in the media world, our group of CEO innovators is particularly successful in leading companies to multichannel media options for readers and marketing solutions for advertisers.'' Awards are given in six categories: CEO, publishing executive, online, events, audience development and production. The categories are divided into three divisions: large trade, small trade (less than $200 million in annual revenue) and general business. Only one winner was named in the events, audience development and production categories. This year's winners are: ???CEO Large: Bob Carrigan, CEO, IDG Communications worldwide Small: Jeff Killeen, chairman-CEO, GlobalSpec ???PUBLISHING EXECUTIVE Large: Tony Uphoff, CEO, TechWeb division of United Business Media Small: Robert Merry, president-editor in chief, Congressional Quarterly General: Keith Fox, president, BusinessWeek division of McGraw-Hill Cos. ???ONLINE Large: Alex Kam, VP-digital media, Incisive Media Small: Jim Sulecki, director of e-media, Meister Media Worldwide General: Gordon McLeod, president, the Wall Street Journal Digital Network, Dow Jones & Co. ???EVENTS Mary Dolaher, CEO, IDG World Expo ???AUDIENCE DEVELOPMENT Nick Cavnar, VP-circulation, Hanley Wood Business Media ???PRODUCTION Glenn R. Filippone, VP-production, Incisive Media Media Business will honor the winners of the sixth annual Top Innovators in Business Publishing Awards at a luncheon Tuesday, June 16, in the Mercury Ballroom of the Hilton New York. The program will start with a cocktail reception at 11:30 a.m. The awards luncheon will begin at 12:30 p.m. Tickets are $95 each, or $850 for a table of 10. To make reservations, visit www. M
Most Popular
In this article: