Saatchi & Saatchi's 21st Annual New Directors Showcase

Published on .

Saatchi & Saatchi's 21st Annual New Directors Showcase at Cannes this year welcomed the audience with a multidisciplinary, retro-futuristic performance that combined Microsoft Kinect technology, live performance, animation and typography.

The intro was conceived by Saatchi senior creative team Jonathan Santana and Xander Smith, who took over the role of showcase creative directors from former worldwide CD Bob Isherwood and former CD-Global Culture Richard Myers. It enlisted the combined talents of Warp Records musicians Jamie Lidell and Clark, independent producer Juliette Larthe, Turner Prize-nominated artist Mark Titchner, software designer Aaron Meyers and effects and video designers Marshmallow Laser Feast.

The opener was a fitting prelude to another eclectic mix of spots, short films, music video and virals from 17 directors. According to Saatchi Worldwide Digital Ccreative Director Tom Eslinger, the agency sifted not just through reels but also cast out more nets to find work through social media, blogs and virals.

Among the audience favorites include Andreas Roth's Exorcist homage for Dirt Devil; an '80s-style bromance by The General Assembly; and a design-minded take on domestic items turned sex machines by Lernert and Sander. The show also featured a host of animation and multimedia works, including The Daniels' Dogboarding clip; Jonathan Higgs' super-effected "Photoshop Handsome" video for Everything Everything; a world seen from the tushies' point of view by Tomi D @ Punga; a creepy, hyperdetailed look at a spider attacking its prey by Passion Pictures' Polynoid; and a poignant contemplation of the passage of time by Agile Films' Mikey Please.

As part of this year's showcase, Saatchi partnered with Vimeo and Moby on the "Hello, Future" Music Video Challenges. Announced earlier this year, the agency invited directors to interpret the show's theme of "Hello, Future" in a music video scored to one of three tracks from Moby's new album, "Destroyed." The winner was Mexican director Alberto Gomez, who earned a chance to work on a project at one of the key offices in the Saatchi global network.

Check out the full list of winners below. All the films will also appear on the Saatchi New Directors YouTube channel.

Andreas Roth: Dirt Devil

Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan: The Lost Thing

Daniel Wolfe: Prayin'

Gary Shore: Cup of Tears

Jonathan Higgs: Everything Everything Photoshop Handsome

Lernert & Sander: Elektrotechnique

Michal Socha: Chick

Mikey Please: Eagleman Stag

Neil Dowling and Nils Clauss: Senior Living

Polynoid: Loom

Robin Goode: Let's Date

Sandro Miller: Butterflies Feat

Tell No One: Seaweed

Thirtytwo: Chase and Status Let You Go

The Daniels: Dogboarding

The General Assembly: Grum- Through the Night

Tomi D @ Punga: Assland

Most Popular