Forsman & Bodenfors Wins Black Cube for Volvo Work at ADC Awards

First Time Since 2011 That a Black Cube Was Awarded

By Published on .

Forsman and Bodenfors swept the ADC's Annual Awards this year, winning not only Advertising Agency of the Year, Interactive Agency of the Year, but also the Best in Show Black Cube award for its standout "Live Test Series" work for Volvo Trucks, which included this hilarious, viral spot that featured Jean-Claude Van Damme doing a death-defying split atop two trucks. This is the first time the ADC has awarded a Black Cube since 2011, when Wieden + Kennedy earned two of the honors for Nike's "Write the Future" and Old Spice "Responses."

The awards, which were handed out in two parts -- one for Design, Print Advertising, Illustration and Photography and another in the Broadcast Advertising, Interactive, Motion and Special Awards categories -- took place during the ADC Festival of Art & Craft in Advertising and Design in Miami Beach.

For the first time, this year the awards featured a balanced jury of both men and women. Jury chairs included Leo Burnett Canada CEO Judy John; production company Buck principal Orion Tait; and Goodby Executive Creative Director and partner Margaret Johnson.

Among the Gold-Cube winners in the advertising category were Wieden & Kennedy for "Whatever's Comfortable Karate," for Southern Comfort; MJZ for DirecTV and Old Spice; CAA for Chipotle's "The Scarecrow"; and Droga5 for Newcastle Brown Ale.

In the interactive category, Forsman also won four Gold Cubes for Volvo, while BBDO, New York, took home a Gold Cube for Lowe's "Fix in Six" Vines.

Client of the year was awarded to Volvo Trucks, which won 15 total awards, while production company of the year was Folke Film, also with 15 awards. Leo Burnett took home Network of the Year, while the School of Visual Arts was School of the Year.

For Design, winners included Hakuhodo, DraftFCB, Chicago, and Leo Burnett Tailor Made. No Gold Cube winner was selected in the print advertising category.

See all the awards winners here.

Most Popular