Fourth Annual No Spot Winners Announced

By Published on .

A packed house cheered on this year's dual winner, The One and Only Herb McGwyer Plays Wallis Island, which took both Best Direction and Best Overall Film prizes last week at the fourth annual edition of our No Spot Short Festival.

The dual winner, directed by James Griffiths and written by Tim Key and Tom Basden, chronicles a music superstar's unlikely concert for an eccentric fan. Key, a comedy writer in London, was on hand to accept the film's awards. Check out some of Tim and Tom's other comedy stylings here. Due to eligibility issues with other festivals, the winning film can't be shown in its entirety here, but rest assured, it was really quite good, and we'll have it for you as soon as we can.

The introductory film for Microsoft Vista's six-episode Clearification web series called A Rare Condition, directed by Tommy Means, won the award for "Best Branded Content." The film depicts comedian Demetri Martin's journey into self-discovery at the Institute For Advanced Personhood. Though there were only three winners, all nine finalists looked great on the big screen. From the darkly funny animation of Luis Cook's Pearce Sisters, to Kylie Matulick and Todd Mueller's whimsical Inside the Happiness Factory documentary to the more somber Room 10, directed by Jennifer Aniston and Andrea Buchanan and starring Robin Wright Penn and Kris Kristofferson, the films ran the spectrum of emotions and moods. Still, between the films, the booze, the candy and the camaraderie, attendees all left with a smile.

For more information and links to past winners, visit No Spot online.
Most Popular
In this article: