Broadband Advertising Could Score You an Emmy

Exclusive: Natas and ANA Partner for Four New Award Categories

By Published on .

NEW YORK ( -- Online ad creatives soon will have the potential to place one more award on their bookshelves: an Emmy statuette.
Four new Emmy awards have been created to account for the complexities of modern advertising.
Four new Emmy awards have been created to account for the complexities of modern advertising. Credit: NATAS

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is set to announce four new award categories honoring advances in broadband advertising that improve consumers' experience with media.

There has always been a single Emmy for the best commercial, but the winner "tends to be a huge Super Bowl production," said Natas President-CEO Peter Price. "This is a more complex challenge because it's not just for advertising but for how technology changes advertising on the internet."

"You need a bit of Einstein as well as a bit of Picasso," he said.

Broadband recognition
The four categories are: advertising on a website or what the academy calls "stand-alone broadband devices"; interactive advertising on portable devices (such as cellphones); ads delivered through "multichannel broadband devices" (that's set-top boxes, for you non-engineers); and advertising in video games.

Natas has joined up with the Association of National Advertisers and will announce the nominees at the ANA's annual conference in October. The awards will be presented at the Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards held during the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas. (Natas is separate from the Los Angeles-based Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, which administers the prime-time TV Emmy Awards.)

ANA CEO Bob Liodice said he was particularly interested in working with Natas because it showcased marketing in a positive sense.

"We've all talked about marketing in the negative sense -- the death of the 30, what's going on in newspaper industry," he said. "But it's been demonstrated the marketing industry is resilient and finds new ways to reach customers, and this is a reflection of what [the award is] about."
Most Popular
In this article: