Cannes Lions Announces 16 Jury Presidents

David Droga, in Third Stint as a Cannes Jury President, Will Lead New Innovation Lions

By Published on .

The Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity is marking its 60th anniversary this year with a group of 16 jury presidents that includes a lot of agency founders and a few just-about-retired industry luminaries.

Shelly Lazarus, for instance, is chairman emeritus of Ogilvy & Mather, and Jack Klues retired as CEO of Vivaki at the end of 2012, although he remains with Publicis Group for the first half of this year to help establish ViVaKi as a separate business unit. Bartle Bogle Hegarty's John Hegarty handed over his worldwide chief creative officer role to Sao Paulo-based Neogama BBH's Alexandre Gama in July 2012, and now, the company says, just calls himself founder and is "a very public face of BBH."

Innovation jury president David Droga
Innovation jury president David Droga

This year's group mostly works in the U.S. or U.K. market (with one in Australia), with the exception of Brazil's Marcello Serpa, who will lead the press jury. Previous years' jury presidents have been more diverse, including the first Chinese president last year, Sheung Yan Lo from JWT Shanghai.

Two of this year's jury presidents are women -- Ogilvy's Ms. Lazarus and Mary Lewis from U.K. design firm Lewis Moberly.

Most are long-time Cannes veterans. Displaying his familiarity with the festival, radio jury head Ralph van Dijk noted that leading that jury "will be a ridiculous pleasure given we're the only jury with a roof garden."

This year's new category is the Innovation Lions, and will be presided over by Droga5's David Droga.

In fact, some are returning for a third stint as Cannes jury presidents. Mr. Droga chaired the film and press jury in 2006, followed by the titanium and integrated jury in 2009. RGA's Bob Greenberg made his debut as a Cannes cyber jury president in 2004, chaired the titanium and integrated jury in 2010, and returns to cyber this year. Leo Burnett's Mark Tutssel will have been a jury president at three out of six festivals: titanium and integrated in 2008, film and press in 2010, and direct this year (we'll expect him back in 2015).

The full list of jury presidents, by jury:

Branded Content and Entertainment: Scott Donaton, president-CEO, Ensemble.

Creative Effectiveness: Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather.

Cyber: Bob Greenberg, founder, chairman, and CEO, R/GA.

Design: Mary Lewis, creative director and founding partner, Lewis Moberly.

Direct: Mark Tutssel, worldwide chief creative, Leo Burnett.

Film: John Hegarty, founder-creative, Bartle Bogle Hegarty.

Film Craft: Joe Pytka, director, Pytka.

Innovation: David Droga, founder and creative chairman, Droga5.

Media: Jack Klues, chairman, Vivaki.

Mobile: Rei Inamoto, chief creative officer and VP, AKQA.

Outdoor: Tony Granger, global chief creative officer, Young & Rubicam.

PR: David Gallagher, senior partner and CEO, Europe, Ketchum.

Press: Marcello Serpa, partner and chief creative officer, Almap BBDO.

Promo & Activation: Rob Schwartz, global creative president, TBWA Worldwide.

Radio: Ralph van Dijk, co-founder and creative director, Eardrum.

Titanium & Integrated: Dan Wieden, Co-founder and chairman, Wieden & Kennedy.

Most Popular
In this article: