Final farewells

Published on .

Walter Annenberg, 94, founder of TV Guide and Seventeen, philanthropist and art collector.

Roone Arledge, 71, legendary ABC newsman and sports broadcaster credited with creating "Wide World of Sports."

Jay Chiat, 70, founder of Chiat/Day, named by Advertising Age as one of the 10 most influential ad people of the 20th century.

David J. Cleary Jr., 83, who rose from sales representative to publisher of Advertising Age during a 30-year career at Crain Communications.

Alvin Eicoff, 80, direct-response pioneer who created the first long-form TV ad in 1949 and founded A. Eicoff & Co. in 1965.

Robert P. Keim, 82, president of the Ad Council for more than 20 years, from 1966 to 1987, and an advocate of public service messages.

Harding Lawrence, 81, former CEO, Braniff Airlines, and husband and business partner of advertising legend Mary Wells Lawrence.

Thomas P. Losee Jr., 62, former publisher of Architectural Digest, Harper's Bazaar and House Beautiful.

Leon Mandel III, 73, former editor and publisher of AutoWeek, and VP at parent Crain Communications.

Stanley Marcus, 96, Neiman Marcus merchandising and marketing guru and Advertising Hall of Fame honoree.

John A. Murphy, 72, former president, Miller Brewing Co. Advertising Age's 1977 Adman of the Year was considered the "father of light beer."

Neal W. O'Connor, 76, former N.W. Ayer president-CEO who moved the agency from Philadelphia to New York.

Sylvester "Pat" Weaver, 93, visionary former chairman of NBC and McCann-Erickson, who introduced "The Today Show" and "The Tonight Show" and pioneered the modern TV ad model.

Gilbert H. Weil, 89, longtime general counsel, Association of National Advertisers, who played a key role in advertising winning recognition from the U.S. Supreme Court in 1976 as a form of commercial speech protected under the First Amendment.

Hooper White, 82, creative at J. Walter Thompson Co. and Leo Burnett Co., and "How did they shoot that?" columnist for Advertising Age.

Most Popular
In this article: