Hearst President, 'National Review' Founder Receive Highest Honors

By Published on .

NEW YORK ( -- Cathleen P. Black, president at Hearst Magazines, and William F. Buckley Jr., founder and editor-at-large of National Review, have been chosen to receive the magazine industry’s two highest honors.
Cathleen P. Black, president of Hearst Magazines, will received the the Henry Johnson Fisher Award.

Henry Johnson Fisher Award
The Magazine Publishers of America and the American Society of Magazine Editors selected Ms. Black to receive the Henry Johnson Fisher Award. The prize, established in 1964, is intended to recognize those who have made major, long-running contributions to magazine publishing. It was named for the founder and former chairman of the Popular Science Publishing Co. Previous recipients include S.I. Newhouse Jr., John H. Johnson and Henry R. Luce.

Ms. Black, who began her career in magazine ad sales, was named publisher at New York Magazine in 1979, becoming the first female publisher of a weekly consumer magazine. Later, she was president and then publisher at USA Today as well as exec VP-marketing, Gannett. She was president-CEO at the Newspaper Association of America from 1991 through 1995, when she joined Hearst.

Magazine Editors' Hall of Fame
Mr. Buckley will be inducted into ASME's Magazine Editors' Hall of Fame, established by the society in 1995 to recognize influential figures in the field. He has been a longtime public intellectual and provocateur, not least for his first book, “God and Man at Yale,” published in 1951. He established the National Review in 1955 and was editor until becoming editor-at-large in 1990. He received 13% of the vote in 1965’s three-way race for New York City mayor. The following year he began the weekly TV program “Firing Line,” which continued until 1999.

Past Hall of Fame inductees include Norman Pearlstine of Time Inc. and Arthur Cooper.

Ms. Black and Mr. Buckley will receive their awards Jan. 25 at a ceremony in New York.

Most Popular
In this article: