Martha Stewart, Ann Moore to Receive Lifetime Achievement Awards

Magazine Industry Bestows Honors for Editorial, Publishing Achievements

By Published on .

NEW YORK ( -- Martha Stewart and Time Inc. Chairman-CEO Ann Moore will collect lifetime achievement awards from the magazine industry this January, the industry's two big associations said today.

Martha Stewart
Martha Stewart Credit: AP

Ms. Stewart, who founded Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia and provided an early example of multi-platform publishing, will be inducted into the American Society of Magazine Editors' Hall of Fame. "With the launch of Martha Stewart Living in 1991, Stewart created an entirely new magazine category," said Sid Holt, CEO at the editors' society. "The influence of Stewart's editorial vision can be seen at newsstands -- and in homes -- throughout the U.S."

Ms. Moore is taking home the Henry Johnson Fisher Award, which the Magazine Publishers Association has presented annually since 1964 to people judged to have made significant and longstanding contributions to the magazine business and to society in general.

'Extraordinary' leader
"Throughout her career, Ann has shown extraordinary management skills and entrepreneurial drive in developing new magazines and expanding the footprint of the industry's flagship brands," said Nina Link, president-CEO of the MPA. "Ann has transformed Time Inc. not just by successfully launching more titles than company founder Henry Luce, but also by overseeing her company's transition to digital platforms."

Ann Moore
Ann Moore Credit: AP

Ms. Moore joined Time Inc. in 1978, steadily accumulated more responsibilities, oversaw a batch of successful launches such as Teen People and In Style, then was named chairman-CEO in 2002. The digital transformation at Time Inc., along with shareholder pressure on parent company Time Warner, subsequently led Ms. Moore to eliminate hundreds of jobs, sell 18 of the company's magazines and shut down titles including Teen People, Cottage Living, Business 2.0 and Life.

The awards will be presented at a Jan. 29 luncheon in New York. Last year's recipients were Tina Brown, the former editor of titles including The New Yorker and Talk, and Jack Kliger, former president-CEO of Hachette Filipacchi Media U.S.
Most Popular
In this article: