Published on .

NEW YORK-in cooperation with Newspaper Association of America, will announce on June 26 the recipient of the first Newspaper Marketing Achievement Award.

The award honors the individual at a newspaper who has contributed to efforts that increase sales, market share, circulation, efficiency and/or public awareness through an innovative marketing program.

The five finalists for top Newspaper Marketer are:

Tom Dichiara, automotive manager for Newsday/New York Newsday and president of the Tri-State Newspaper Network.

Melissa Draut, sales development manager of The Courier-Journal, Louisville, Ky.

Gene Grant, advertising director of The Sacramento (Calif.) Bee.

Dick Huguley, VP-circulation of the Atlanta Journal & Constitution, with Celeste Bottorf, marketing director.

Karen Kokiko, marketing director of the Reno (Nev.) Gazette-Journal, who headed a team including Terry Thompson, circulation director; Laura Smissaert, consumer marketing director; and Dan Moriarty, sales and marketing manager.

"There are so many talented people in this field," said Ed Erhardt, VP-publisher of Advertising Age, "and we are proud to acknowledge their efforts."

Nominations were made at NAA's annual convention in April and by Ad Age editors. Screening was done by a panel of judges organized by NAA, and the final Newspaper Marketer of the Year selection will be made by Ad Age.

The award will be presented at NAA's annual marketing conference in Atlanta. Ad Age and NAA will make a cash contribution to a school or charity chosen by the honoree.

Most Popular
In this article: