AAF elects new members to Advertising Hall of Fame

Published on .

The American Advertising Federation, Washington, said four new members have been elected to the Advertising Hall of Fame: former J. Walter Thompson Co. Chairman Burt Manning, former Chiat/Day Chairman Jay Chiat, former Saatchi & Saatchi Worldwide Chairman Milton Gossett and former Wunderman Cato Johnson Chairman Lester Wunderman.

They will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at ceremonies in New York next March 16.

Also chosen for the AAF's Legends in Advertising Award were the late Joyce C. Hall, founder of Hallmark Cards; Marion Harper, former CEO of McCann-Erickson Worldwide; Leonard Matthews, past president of the American Association of Advertising Agencies; Janet Wolf, former exec VP of William Esty Co.; Frank Stanton, president emeritus of CBS; and the late adman John Kennedy.

The award marks the 50th anniversary of the Advertising Hall of Fame and honors lifetime achievements of former Hall of Fame nominees who were not inducted in the year in which they were nominated.

Copyright October 1998, Crain Communications Inc.

Most Popular
In this article: