Published on .

WASHINGTON-Four industry leaders will be inducted into the American Advertising Federation's Hall of Fame March 26 in New York, the AAF announced last week.

The four are William Backer, former vice chairman-worldwide executive creative director of what was Backer Spielvogel Bates Worldwide (now Bates Worldwide); Edwin Artzt, former chairman-CEO of Procter & Gamble Co.; Thomas Murphy, chairman-CEO of Capital Cities/ABC; and Howard Bell, president emeritus of the AAF.

Mr. Backer's work during his 40 years on the agency side included some of the most memorable advertising campaigns in history, including "It's the real thing" and "I'd like to buy the world a Coke" for Coca-Cola Co.; and the "Miller time," "Miller Lite All-Stars" and "Here's to good friends" efforts for Miller Brewing Co.

He began his career in McCann-Erickson's mailroom in 1953, soon was promoted to copywriter and in 1956 left for Young & Rubicam. He returned in 1958 and the next year became the youngest VP in McCann history. He became creative director of McCann-Erickson USA in 1973.

In 1979, he formed Backer & Spielvogel with Carl Spielvogel. Saatchi & Saatchi Co. bought the agency in 1986, and merged it with Ted Bates International. Mr. Backer retired in 1993.

Mr. Artzt, who retired earlier this year, emphasized advertising training during his 40-plus years at P&G and "has always shown an awareness of the relationship between advertising and all media," the AAF said in announcing his selection.

In 1994, he proposed development of what is now the Coalition for Advertising-Supported Information & Entertainment, devoted to developing advertising's role in new media.

Mr. Murphy began his broadcasting career as the first employee of an Albany, N.Y., TV station and in 1966 became chairman-CEO of Capital Cities. In 1985, he oversaw the $3.5 billion merger with ABC.

Last summer, Capital Cities/ABC reached an agreement to be acquired by the Walt Disney Co., and Mr. Murphy agreed to step down from active management.

Mr. Bell spent nearly 24 years as AAF president, developing and directing many projects including the National Advertising Review Board, the Advertising Hall of Fame and establishment of the AAF's non-profit educational affiliate, the American Advertising Foundation.

While at the National Association of Broadcasters, he helped develop the Television Code and formulate the blueprint for the Television Bureau of Advertising.

The four were selected from a group of 40 candidates by the AAF Council of Judges, chaired this year by Chuck Fruit Jr., VP and director-media and presence marketing for Coca-Cola Co.

They bring to 129 the number of people selected for the Hall of Fame during its 46-year history.

Most Popular
In this article: