AAF to Induct Seven Into Hall of Fame

David Bell, Arthur Sulzberger Among the 2007 Honorees

By Published on .

NEW YORK (AdAge.com) -- David Bell, Arthur Ochs "Punch" Sulzberger and Robert Wehling are among seven industry executives who will be inducted into the American Advertising Federation's Advertising Hall of Fame on March 20.
The AAF's Advertising Hall of Fame will induct seven new members on March 20 at the Waldorf-Astoria.
The AAF's Advertising Hall of Fame will induct seven new members on March 20 at the Waldorf-Astoria.

This year's inductees also include Bruce Gordon, Stuart B. Upson and, posthumously, Vincent T. Cullers and Roquel "Billy" Davis. Recipients were chosen by the AAF Council of Judges, which is chaired by Joseph Abruzzese, president-advertising sales for Discovery Networks.

'Must-attend event'
"This year's awards ceremony is a must-attend event, showcasing those who have built our industry and bettered society," said AAF President-CEO Wally Snyder.

The Hall of Fame recognizes the significant industry contributions, as well as the personal impact on society, of advertising leaders. According to the AAF, nominees are "those men and women who have completed their primary careers, who have distinguished themselves in those careers, who have contributed to the betterment of advertising and its reputation and who have made significant volunteer efforts outside the workplace."

Mr. Bell is chairman emeritus of the Interpublic Group of Cos. and has led industry organizations such as the American Association of Advertising Agencies, Ad Council, Advertising Educational Foundation, AAF and National Advertising Review Council. A former president-retail markets for Verizon, Mr. Gordon is recognized for establishing one of the most recognized brands in the American marketplace and generating $23 billion in annual revenues.

Helped elevate journalism
Mr. Sulzberger, chairman emeritus of the New York Times Co., was cited for his commitment to quality journalism. Mr. Upson, chairman emeritus of Saatchi & Saatchi, is being honored for his work with brands such as Toyota, Duracell and Wendy's, as well as his pro bono work with McGruff the Crime Dog for the National Crime Prevention Council. Mr. Wehling, former global marketing and government relations officer for the Procter & Gamble Co., is being recognized for his work with brands such as Crest, Head & Shoulders, Scope and Secret, as well as his investment in family-friendly programming, children's issues and education.

Vincent T. Cullers (1924-2003), the former president and CEO of the Vince Cullers Group, finds a place in the Hall of Fame for starting the first African-American-owned full-service ad agency in the U.S., while Roquel "Billy" Davis (1932-2004), the former music director and senior VP of McCann Erickson, is being recognized for his creation of song-form commercials such as "I'd Like to Buy the World a Coke," "It's the Real Thing," and "If You've Got the Time, We've Got the Beer."

Among the industry giants in the Hall of Fame, which was established in 1948, are Bill Bernbach, Leo Burnett, Katharine Graham, David Ogilvy, William Paley, Ted Turner and Mary Wells Lawrence.

Last year's inductees were BET founder Robert L. Johnson; Donald R. Keough, retired president-chief operating officer of the Coca-Cola Co.; Time Inc. founder Henry R. Luce; and Al Newharth, founder of the USA Today and the Freedom Forum.
Most Popular
In this article: