Published on .

NEW YORK-The deadline for Advertising Age's 1994 The Best Awards competition has been extended to Feb. 16, due to the volume of requests from agencies and production houses.

The Best Awards, now in its 12th year, drew entries from 23 countries last year and is the only awards competition to include judges from the marketer side of the business.

Categories for the 1994 The Best Awards are TV, radio, newspaper, magazine and out of home. Within the TV category, achievement in visual effects, adapted music, original music, cinematography and editing will be honored with special craft awards.

Chaired by Bob Welke, chief creative officer for Leo Burnett USA, Chicago, the panel of judges for the competition includes Jonathan Harris, executive creative director, Hal Riney & Partners Heartland; Jim Mountjoy, exec VP-creative director, Loeffler Ketchum Mountjoy, Charlotte, N.C.; Steve Rabosky, executive creative director, Chiat/Day, Venice, Calif.; Robert Austin, director of marketing communications, Volvo Cars of North America; Brad Ellis, international advertising manager, American Airlines; Lenora Kirkley, VP-advertising, Ethan Allen Inc.; and Jan Soderstrom, senior VP-advertising, Visa USA.

Also serving as judges are these members of the Ad Age editorial staff: Steve Yahn, editor; Larry Edwards, executive editor/features; Bob Garfield, editor at large; Anthony Vagnoni, editor, Advertising Age's Creativity; and Pat Sloan, senior editor and New York bureau chief.

Winners will be announced in the June 5 issue of Advertising Age in a special The Best Awards supplement. Entry forms and additional information can be obtained by contacting Bob Goldsborough at Advertising Age, phone (312) 280-3134 or fax (312) 649-5331 or (312) 649-7792.

Most Popular
In this article: