EU tobacco ad ban rejected

Published on .

Health ministers from the 15 member countries of the European Union at a meeting in Brussels Thursday rejected proposals for a total ban on tobacco advertising. The proposal is supported by at least four nations that already ban tobacco ads--Portugal, Italy, Finland and France. Germany, Britain, Denmark and the Netherlands have voted against the ban proposal a number of times, citing free-trade principles. A compromise by Spain has yet to be voted on. It would allow nations with total bans to bar publications containing tobacco ads.

Most Popular
In this article: