Published on .


TOKYO-Hideo Ishikawa, 60, has been named to the new post of associate director of international affairs at Hakuhodo, Japan's second-largest agency.

Previously assistant to the president, he will guide international activities under recently named President Takashi Shoji (AA, Jan. 31).

Mr. Ishikawa joined Hakuhodo in 1958 and got his first international assignment the following year in Okinawa, then a U.S. possession, as office manager with responsibility for the Colgate-Palm-olive Co. account.

He was named manager of the New York office in 1964 and returned to Tokyo in 1967, holding progressively more senior positions. From 1977 to 1980 as executive assistant, Mr. Ishikawa was responsible for projects relating to the Moscow Olympics.

Other people moving:

Scott Wills has left as exec VP of Mezzina/Brown, New York, which acquired his shop, Wills & Evans, last summer. Mezzina/Brown Chairman-Executive Creative Director John Mezzina and President William Brown Jr. bought Wills & Evans, which billed $25 million to $30 million, in an effort to grow beyond R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., its primary account. Wills & Evans accounts Zing Systems, American Movie Classics and New Woman are conducting agency reviews.

Gary Christianson, 47, to president, Schmidt/Westerdahl Group, Portland, Ore., from president-advertising services. He succeeds Joe Blaha, who left.

Lloyd Jacobs to vice chairman, a new post at McKinney & Silver, Raleigh, N.C., from exec VP.

Bill Youngclaus to exec VP-chief operating officer, a new post at Noble & Associates, Chicago, from exec VP-managing director, Western International Media. , 40, succeeds Mr. Youngclaus, from VP-media services.

Salvatore LaGreca to senior VP-chief financial officer, a new post at McCann-Erickson North America, New York, from VP-controller of McCann parent Interpublic Group of Cos. Joseph Studley succeeds Mr. LaGreca, from chief financial officer at E.C. Television/Fremantle.

Edith R. Wilson to senior VP-managing director, a new post at the History Factory, Washington, from senior VP, Burson-Marsteller.

Monica Shaffer, 37, to senior VP-media director, Lintas Campbell-Ewald, Los Angeles, from principal, Biederman, Kelly & Shaffer, New York. She succeeds Ricki Kohn, who left.


Lund's CBS title

matches duties

NEW YORK-Peter Lund has been named CBS Television Network president, a position left vacant since CBS restructured network operations in the mid-1980s.

Mr. Lund, who remains exec VP of CBS Broadcast Group, will oversee the sales, marketing and communications, affiliate relations, TV stations, and radio divisions.

The promotion is a formal acknowledgment of the role Mr. Lund has been performing informally. It will free Howard Stringer, president of the CBS Broadcast Group, to focus on critical programming areas for the network.

Mr. Lund joined CBS in October 1990, from president of Multimedia Entertainment.

Other people moving:

Philippe P. Dauman to exec VP-general counsel and chief administrative officer, Viacom International, New York, from senior VP-general counsel, and Thomas E. Dooley to exec VP-finance, corporate development and communications, from senior VP-corporate development. In the new posts, the men will serve as the transition team handling the merger of Viacom, Paramount Communications and Blockbuster Entertainment Corp. Also at Viacom: Scott H. Kolber to director of technology and business operations, a new post, from VP-market strategy.

James P. Schadt to president-ceo, Reader's Digest Association, Pleasantville, N.Y., from president-chief operating officer. He remains a member of the board. He succeeds George V. Grune, 64, who remains chairman.

Walter Annasohn to director of international, Publicitas Holding, Lausanne, Switzerland, the world's largest media representation company, from a similar post at Ascom, a high-tech telecommunications company. He succeeds, in part, Urs Wunderli, who left (AA, Feb. 21).

Patrick G. O'Malley to VP, a new post at Edmonds Associates, a Washington-based Republican media consultancy, from assistant to the executive director-legislative/political arm, National Rifle Association.

Most Popular
In this article: