BBDO, Carmichael Lynch, Gabriel deGrood, Burrell

By Published on .

Photo: Doug Goodman
Doug deGrood, Gabriel deGrood Bendt; Tom Gabriel and Mike Faems, Burrell; John Colasanti and Jack Supple, Carmichael Lynch; Gerry Graf, BBDO; and Ron Berger, MVBMS, presentor.
DANA POINT, Calif. (AdAge.com) -- BBDO, Carmichael Lynch, Gabriel deGrood Bendt and Burrell Communications are this year's top winners in the American Association of Advertising Agencies' O'Toole Awards categories.

The announcement was made at this morning's awards ceremony at the Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, the site of 4As 84th annual Management Conference.

Overall excellence
Named for the late 4As president John O'Toole, the awards honor an agency for the overall excellence of its work rather than for an individual campaign.

The winner of the 2002 O'Toole General Excellence Award for agencies with billings above $300 million went to Omnicom Group's BBDO Worldwide, New York, with Bcom3 Group's Leo Burnett USA, Chicago, the

Read full conference coverage on AdAge.com.

The winner for agencies with billings from $30 million to $300 million went to Inerpublic Group od Cos.' Carmichael Lynch, Minneapolis, with Publicis Groupe's Publicis in Mid America, Dallas, the runner-up.

Under $30 million
Picking up the award for agencies with billings of less than $30 million went to Gabriel deGrood Bendt, Minneapolis with Sawyer Riley Compton, Atlanta, the runner-up.

Burrell Communications Group, Chicago, won for multicultural agency, and Campbell-Ewald, Warren, Mich., was the runner-up.

Most Popular
In this article: