Published on .

Abby Kohnstamm (3rd l.), VP-corporate marketing, IBM Corp., was honored as Business Communicator of the Year by the New York chapter, Business Marketing Association. With her at the awards event were (from l.) David G. Ferm, Business Week publisher; Shelly Lazarus, president, Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide; Ned Clausen, president of the BMA and senior VP-group director, Griffin Bacal; Ed Erhardt, publisher of Advertising Age; and Michael Hehir, president, McGraw-Hill Information Services Group.

Among the agency people on hand as Speed Graphics opened its new Direct Digital Printing Complex were Bozell's Michelle Ferone (2nd r.), partner-broadcast production, and Vickie Rannazzi, manager of the Bozell talent department. Mayor Rudolph Giuliani (l.) joined Speed Graphics President Ron Krivosheiw at the opening ceremonies.

Microsoft Corp. Chairman Bill Gates (2nd r.) chats with (from l.) DreamWorks SKG's Jeffrey Katzenberg; USA Networks President Rod Perth; and Don Ohlmeyer, president of NBC West Coast. Mr. Gates gave his pitch about the intersection of computers and entertainment in a speech to the Hollywood Radio & Television Society, of which Mr. Perth is president.

International Data Group hosted 160 computer marketing and agency executives at the fifth annual technology marketing conference in Scottsdale, Ariz., including a dinner at the Champlin Fighter Aircraft Museum. Here IDG Chairman Pat McGovern (l.) and President Kelly Conlin (r.) greet Mary Doan (2nd. l.), president of Saatchi & Saatchi's San Francisco office and worldwide account director on Hewlett-Packard Co., and Jill Kramer, worldwide marketing communications manager for HP's Computer Systems Organization.

Producing the MCI Downhill Relays Ski Tour at Deer Valley were (from l.) Mike Ricci, York International; Carol Danaher, MCI media manager; Olympic Gold Medalist Stein Eriksen; Franklin Lowe, Golden Gate Productions; and Steve Soldano, Messner Vetere Berger McNamee Schmetterer/Euro RSCG.

Eric McClure (2nd l.), media director, Oasis International, won Time's Man of the Year contest for the ad community by predicting it would be Rep. Newt Gingrich and giving the best rationale. Three Time execs presented him a jumbo postcard indicating his reward-a trip for two to Rome. From left: Time President Bruce Hallett, Associate Publisher Dick Raskopf and Publisher Jack Haire.

Most Popular
In this article: