Dave Thomas and David Sarnoff Inducted Posthumously

Published on .

NEW YORK (AdAge.com) -- The American Advertising Federation will induct five into the Advertising Hall of Fame on March 18, two posthumously: David Sarnoff, chairman-president of RCA; and Dave Thomas, founder, Wendy's International.

The other inductees are: Hall "Cap" Adams Jr., retired chairman-CEO of Publicis Groupe's Leo Burnett Co., who championed integrated services; Phil Dusenberry, former chairman of Omnicom Group's BBDO North America, BBDO's guiding creative light for over two decades; John H. Johnson, publisher-chairman, Johnson Publishing Co., pioneer of African-American consumer marketing and founder of Ebony and Jet magazines.

The Advertising Hall of Fame began in 1948, and since then 162 individuals, including this year's honorees, have been elected, including Leo Burnett, Jay Chiat, Katharine Graham, Ray Kroc, David Ogilvy, William Paley, Harley Procter, Hal Riney, John Wanamaker and Mary Wells Lawrence.

Most Popular
In this article: