Photo Review: Apple, Chiat, AOL, VW grab honors at Effies

Published on .

NEW YORK: The big winners at the New York American Marketing Association's annual Effie awards ceremony, held here at the Marriott Marquis, were Apple Computer, which won the Grand Effie for its "Think different" campaign, created by TBWA/Chiat/Day, Playa del Rey, Calif., and America Online and Volkswagen, both of which were elected into the AMA's Marketing Hall of Fame. The Effie awards honor advertising effectiveness.

Soaking up the glory after having been awarded the Grand Effie for Apple's "Think different" campaign are (from l.) Steve Wilhite, senior VP, and Ken Segall, creative director, both TBWA/Chiat/Day; Mary Lee Keane, executive director, the New York AMA; Steve Jobs, CEO, Apple Computer; and Lee Clow, CEO, TBWA/Chiat/Day. TBWA/Chiat/Day also won the Grand Effie last year, for Taco Bell's "Yo quiero Taco Bell" campaign.

The U.S. Marine Corps and its agency, J. Walter Thompson, Atlanta, took home a Gold Effie for the "Rite of Passage" campaign. On hand to celebrate were (from l.) Capt. Marshall Lauck; Rob Cherof, senior partner, JWT; Maj. Gen. Garry L. Parks; and Jay Cronin, partner, and Jeff White, exec VP, both of JWT.

Congratulating Myer Berlow (c.), president-interactive marketing, America Online, on AOL's election to the Marketing Hall of Fame were Jill Manee, VP-publisher, Advertising Age -- a sponsor of the awards -- and this year's honorary chairman of the Hall of Fame, Burt Manning, chairman emeritus, J. Walter Thompson Worldwide.

The U.S. Department of Transportation, Ad Council and Leo Burnett USA teamed up for the Silver Effie-winning "Unsuspecting Victims" campaign, which sought to increase safety belt usage. In attendance at the ceremony were (from l.) Donna Feiner, senior VP, Ad Council; U.S. Secretary of the Department of Transportation Rodney Slater; Jill Baskin, VP-account director, Leo Burnett; and Stephanie Greenberg, VP and campaign director, Ad Council.

Volkswagen was ushered into the AMA's Marketing Hall of Fame in the Classic category, which recognizes outstanding brand stewardship for companies more than 25 years old. Celebrating with VW Director of Marketing/Advertising Liz Vanzura (c.) are Carolyn Bivens, publisher of Effie sponsor USA Today, and Burt Manning.

Most Popular
In this article: