Published on .

CHICAGO: Chicago Association of Direct Marketing presented its Tempo awards to local direct marketers recently at the Palmer House Hilton. Attending the presentation were (l. to r.): Lori Bihun, VP-director of direct marketing, Beyond DDB; Susan Cantele, creative director, Cantele, Sedivy & Associates; Shelly Soble, president, Creative Benefits, and CADM president; Gloria Scoby, senior VP-group publisher, Crain Communications Inc.; and Clive MacLean, exec VP-managing director, CM partners.

WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS, W.VA.: Yellow Pages Publishers Association chose the Greenbrier as the site of its recent board meeting, which featured a golf tournament. Tournament winners posed with other attendees, including (l. to r.): Forrest Miller, president-CEO, Pacific Bell Directory and Southwestern Bell Yellow Pages, and YPPA vice chairman; Marty Jacobus, president-publication/directory sales, World Color; John Adams, chairman-CEO, Martin Agency; golf legend Sam Snead; Earl Goode, president, GTE Information Services, and YPPA chairman; and Jim Logan, YPPA president.

NEW YORK: Ad hoc research group Research International USA celebrated its 25th anniversary with a conference at Windows on the World. Attendees at the group's Brands Face the Future conference included (l. to r.): James Figura, VP-consumer research and insights, Colgate-Palmolive U.S.; Doss Struse, chairman-CEO, Research International; John Costello, senior exec VP-general manager of marketing, Sears, Roebuck & Co.; Robert Minutoli, senior VP, Rouse Co.; Jane Evans, president-CEO, SmartTV; Alex Biel, director, Research International's parent Research International Group; Cindy Cooper, VP-customer information, Ameritech Consumer Services; and Mark Stapylton-Smith, exec VP-world service, Research International.

LOS ANGELES: Radio Advertising Bureau presented its first Kevin B. Sweeney Award for excellence in radio to Gordon F. Mason (c.), retiring president of Southern California Broadcasters Association, at the Sheraton Universal Hotel. Flanking Mr. Mason are (l.): master of ceremonies Gary Owens; and Ron Ruth, exec VP-stations, RAB. The award is named for RAB's first president.

Most Popular
In this article: