DESIGN: 2007 National Design Awards Winners Announced

Published on .

PWP Landscape Architecture
PWP Landscape Architecture
The Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum's eighth annual National Design Awards winners are led by a Lifetime Achievement Award honoring Antoine Predock, principal of Albuquerque-based Antoine Predock Architect, founded in 1967. Among other winners: Adobe Systems, Corporate Achievement Award; Denise Scott Brown and Robert Venturi, principals of Venturi Scott Brown & Associates, Design Mind Award, "recognizing visionary individuals or firms that have affected a shift in design thinking or practice through writing, research and scholarship"; book jacket designer Chip Kidd of Alfred A. Knopf, Communications Design Award; Apple's Jonathan Ive, a shoo-in for Product Design; and Berkeley, Calif.-based PWP Landscape Architecture, led by principal Peter Walker, Landscape Design Award, honoring work in urban planning or park and garden design. Seen here are three PWP projects: 1) the Tanner Fountain, Harvard University, 1984, 2) IBM Solana, Westlake and Southlake, Texas, 1989, and 3) the Sony Center, Berlin, 2000. The awards will be presented at an Oct. 18 gala dinner at Cooper-Hewitt. Click here for all the winners.
Most Popular
In this article: