Event Details

Wednesday, November 17, 2010
Bookmark Event:
Google Calendar

Ad Council's 57th Annual Public Service Award Dinner to be Co-Hosted by Brian Williams and Jimmy Fallon

The Waldorf Astoria, New York, NY

Published on .

Brian Williams and Jimmy Fallon to Co-Host the Ad Council's 57th Annual Public Service Award Dinner

Comcast's Brian L. Roberts to Receive Distinguished Honor

NEW YORK, September 14, 2010 – The Advertising Council announced today that NBC Nightly News' Brian Williams and late-night talk show host and comedian Jimmy Fallon and will co-host its 57th Annual Public Service Award Dinner. The event, to be held on November 17th at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City, will honor Brian L. Roberts, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Comcast Corporation.

Brian Williams, anchor and managing editor of NBC Nightly News, has received four Edward R. Murrow awards, five Emmy awards and the broadcast industry's highest honor, the George Foster Peabody award. Williams has served as emcee of the Ad Council's dinner three times previously.

Saturday Night Live alum Jimmy Fallon is host of Late Night with Jimmy Fallon on NBC. He has appeared in feature films including Taxi, Fever Pitch, Almost Famous, Band of Brothers, Factory Girl and Whip It. Fallon recently hosted the Primetime Emmy Awards and he has emceed the MTV Movie Awards and the MTV Video Music Awards.

"We are thrilled to have Brian Williams and Jimmy Fallon as co-hosts of this year's dinner, which will pay tribute to Brian Roberts," said Peggy Conlon, President and CEO of the Ad Council. "With Jimmy's talent and energy, and Brian's exceptional ability to tell our story, it's sure to be a fantastic night in celebration of public service."

Previous hosts of the Ad Council's dinner include Tina Fey, Ellen DeGeneres, Diane Sawyer, Matt Lauer and Anderson Cooper. Attended by prominent members of the media, advertising and corporate communities, the dinner serves as a tribute to the industries and individuals who support the Ad Council and its public service advertising (PSA) campaigns. The dinner is being chaired by Tim Armstrong, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of AOL, and Chair of the Ad Council.

The public service award dinner is the Ad Council's largest fundraising event for the Ad Council, raising $2.4 million last year. Platinum sponsors will include Time Warner Inc. and Yahoo! Inc.

Previous recipients of the Annual Public Service Award include Jeffrey Immelt (GE), Dick Parsons (Time Warner), Bill Weldon (Johnson & Johnson), Ken Chenault (American Express), Bob Wright (GE/NBC), Ted Turner, Katharine Graham and A.G. Lafley (Procter & Gamble). In keeping with tradition, this year's award will be presented by last year's recipient, Muhtar Kent, Chairman and CEO, The Coca-Cola Company.

The Ad Council is a non-profit organization with a rich history of marshalling volunteer talent from the advertising and media industries to deliver critical messages to the American public. Having produced literally thousands of PSA campaigns addressing the most pressing social issues of the day, the Ad Council has effected, and continues to effect, tremendous positive change by raising awareness, inspiring action and saving lives. To learn more about the Ad Council and its campaigns, visit www.adcouncil.org

TICKETS: Reservations for tables and individual tickets to the event may be arranged through Jessica Wolin at 212-984-1942 or by e-mail through [email protected]

PRESS: Ellyn Fisher, The Ad Council, 212-984-1964, [email protected]

Most Popular