These election signs urge you to vote for Breonna Taylor, George Floyd and others

Courageous Conversation Global Foundation highlights victims of police brutality to tackle voter apathy

Published On
Oct 07, 2020

Editor's Pick

A new campaign from the Courageous Conversation Global Foundation lets people print lawn signs asking people to vote for Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, Stephon Clark and other victims of police brutality, rather than for politicians.

Breaking on the day of the vice presidential debate, and designed to combat voter apathy, the campaign will install the signs at locations in Washington D.C., and also directs people to a website,, where they can download the printable red, white and blue signs to put them in their own yard. It also includes a video and an Instagram profile, @VoteForThem2020, on which citizens can learn about policies that affect Black people, indigenous people and other people of color.

The campaign was created by Goodby Silverstein & Partners Associate Creative Directors Anthony O’Neill and Rony Castor, who were this week honored on Ad Age’s 40 Under 40 list.  The pair previously created the Not a Gun campaign for Courageous Conversations,  which graphically depicted how an innocent candy bar could look like a gun in the hands of a Black person.

“It was important for us to continue the conversation about police brutality, to keep saying their names,” says O’Neill. “Racial injustice is an issue that affects all of us, but it’s also something we can all change if we vote. It might not be immediate, but the road to change starts today, and it starts at the polls.”

“We see it, even with the recent events with the Supreme Court,” adds Castor. “People need to understand that elections affect everything around us. Voting is the power we have as Americans to make change. By casting a spotlight on how votes affect real people like Breonna Taylor, we hope to enforce how much every vote counts.”


Oct 07, 2020
Client :
Courageous Conversation Global Foundation
Agency :
Goodby Silverstein & Partners
Board Chair, Courageous Conversation Global Foundatio :
Glenn E. Singleton
Director of Communications, Courageous Conversation :
Gabriel Joshua Gima
Executive Director, Courageous Conversation Global Foundation :
Andrea Johnson
Co-Chairmen :
Jeff Goodby
Co-Chairmen :
Rich Silverstein
Chief Creative Officer :
Margaret Johnson
Associate Creative Director :
Anthony O’Neill
Associate Creative Director :
Rony Castor
Art Director :
Mila Wizel
Copywriter :
Sophie Lichtman
Designer :
Tana Cieciora
President :
Derek Robson
Assistant Account Manager :
Rachel Diaz
Partner Head of Brand Strategy :
Bonnie Wan
Partner Head of Communication Strategy :
Christine Chen
Brand Strategist :
Madison Cameron
Communication Strategist :
Matt McNamara
Director of Communications :
Meredith Vellines
Co-Directors of Production :
Leila Gage
Co-Directors of Production :
Margaret Brett-Kearns
Executive Producer :
Tena Goy
Senior Print Producer / Art Buyer :
Noah Dasho
Creative Technologist :
August Bjornberg
Head of Photography :
Quinn Gravier
Editor :
David Sullivan
Post Production Coordinator :
Sumita Rattu
Motion Artist :
Nick Bizzack
Director of Business Affairs :
Judy Ybarra

Need a credit fix? Contact the Creativity Editors

Project Type