Watch Elton John steal the show in Doritos’ Super Bowl commercial

The ad imagines Jack Harlow as a prolific triangle player

Published On
Feb 09, 2023

Editor's Pick

Rapper Jack Harlow finds fame as a triangle player only to see Elton John win the acclaim in Doritos’ Super Bowl ad.

The 60-second spot from Goodby Silverstein & Partners will run during the second quarter of the game.

The ad plays into Doritos’ “Try Another Angle” positioning that draws from the snack’s shape and encourages fans to see things differently.

The spot shows a frustrated Harlow in the recording studio finding inspiration by seeing a triangle through a Doritos chip. Scenes race to show Harlow performing with a triangle on stage, teaching the instrument to school children, a mob outside a music store where triangles have sold out, triangle fashions, and Harlow hawking his own cologne, Triangle by Harlow.

All is well for Harlow until an awards show, when the "Triangle Player of the Year" award goes to Elton John, who is shown playing an enormous triangle with mallets.

The spot includes appearances by rapper Missy Elliott; radio personality and producer Sway Calloway, and his co-anchor Heather B. Angie Yadao-Payad, who won the brand’s TikTok dance competition, also appears in the commercial. The brand says the competition drew more than 1 million videos in three days, "making it Doritos' most successful TikTok activation to date."

The campaign includes a connection with Decentraland where Doritos states it will give fans the chance to  "produce and record their own triangle-inspired beats," making it  "the first brand to recreate its Super Bowl commercial in the metaverse."

Doritos is also seeking Twitter engagement by asking people to scan an image in a Doritos tweet on game day to generate their own unique QR code and then tweet it out with a special hashtag (#DoritosTriangleScheme and #Entry) with the goal of getting followers to join. Then the brand will give out prizes to people who lure the most participants, including a $25,000 grand prize.


Feb 09, 2023
Client :
Agency :
Goodby Silverstein & Partners
Steven Williams
Chief Marketing Officer :
Brett O'Brien
Senior Vice President :
Stacy Taffet
Senior Director :
Courtney Larson
Director Brand Marketing :
Marlowe Williams
Manager Brand Marketing :
McCallen Moser
Director Strategic Insights :
Brodie Dunn
Senior Director Brand Communications :
Dan Cohen
Director Brand Communications :
Ashley Capps
Associate Manager Brand Communications :
Lindsey Smith
Senior Director Media :
Amanda Corral
Senior Director Trademark/Legal :
Jeanette Zimmer
Senior Director Corporate Legal :
Charlie Boehler
Chief Creative Officer :
Margaret Johnson
Creative Director :
Eamonn Dixon
Creative Director :
Stefan Copiz
Associate Creative Director :
Chase Doutre
Associate Creative Director :
Danny O'Connor
Copywriter :
Pedro Furtado
Art Director :
Fabio Santoro
Head of Production :
Jim Haight
Executive Producer :
Sara Ward
Senior Producer :
Alexei Vanmourik
Managing Partner :
Brian McPherson
Group Account Director :
Chris Nilsen
Account Director :
Liza Chedrick
Account Manager :
Camille LeJeune
Assistant Account Manager :
Sara Young
Partner Head of Brand Strategy :
Bonnie Wan
Partner Head of Communication Strategy :
Christine Chen
Group Director Communications Strategy :
Caitlin Neelon
Group Director Brand Strategy :
Ralph Paone
Director Brand Strategy :
Cassidy Wilber
Director Communications Strategy :
Jacob Sperla
Brand Strategist :
Kelly Kikuchi
Communications Strategist :
Mahima Silwal
Director of Business Affairs :
Judy Ybarra
Senior Business Affairs Manager :
Annie Holmgren
Trafficking Manager :
Rowena Cuejilo
Executive Design Director :
Ryan Self
Designer :
Fernando Salvador Hoyos
President Music Entertainment & Culture :
Emma Quigley
Vice President Music Entertainment & Culture :
Michael Monahan
Owner :
Danielle Vadai
President :
Barry Rosen
PR :
Ketchum PR
Vice President Group Manager :
Travis Culver
Vice President :
Brooke Brandenborg
Managing Account Supervisor :
Natalie Houck-Meloni
Account Supervisor :
Kelsey Kolisek
Production Company :
Hungry Man
Director :
Wayne McClammy
Managing Director/ Partner :
Mino Jarjoura
Head of Sales/Executive Producer :
Dan Duffy
Executive Producer :
Rick Jarjoura
Production Supervisor :
Yuki Wakano
Director of Photography :
Dion Beebe
Production Designer :
Robb Buono
Post Production :
The Den Editorial
Senior Editor :
Christjan Jordan
Editor :
Matthew Hilber
Additional Editor :
Pieter Viljoen
Additional Editor :
Andrew Leggett
Assistant Editor :
Jake Swartz
Assistant Editor :
Nic Watkins
Assistant Editor :
Laurence Thrush
Assistant Editor :
Ramon de Souza
Executive Producer :
Jennifer Mersis
Head of Production :
Kristina Thoegersen
Producer :
Jessica Davis
Producer :
Gigi May
Audio and Sound Design Company :
Lime Studios
Sound Design and Mix :
Joel Waters
Audio Assistant :
Collin Thomas
Associate Producer :
Cassie Underwood
Executive Producer :
Susie Boyajan
VFX Company :
The Mill
Creative Director :
Oliver Caiden
VFX Supervisor :
Oliver Caiden
Executive Producer :
Hillary Thomas
Producer :
Mari Suarez
2D Lead Artist :
Oliver Caiden
3D Lead Artist :
Graeme Trunbul
2D Artist :
Andy Roberts
2D Artist :
Piotr Bednarczyk
2D Artist :
Dipansu Halder
2D Artist :
Venkata Siva Kumar Mannepalli
2D Artist :
Svilen Aynadzhiev
2D Artist :
Gangadharam Raja
2D Artist :
Pradeep Kumar Rawat
2D Artist :
Ragesh Ramachandran
2D Artist :
Pravin Shamrao Ingale
2D Artist :
Vivek Gopalrao Tekale
2D Artist :
Mahesh M S
2D Artist :
Sandeep VS
2D Artist :
Kunal Dilip Bendke
2D Artist :
Md Munaam Gazzal
2D Artist :
Sanket Suresh Mhatre
2D Artist :
Sagar Adivarekar
2D Artist :
Mayur Chandrakant Kothawade
2D Artist :
G Maniraj
2D Artist :
Akhil Mohan
2D Artist :
Vishvajeet Kocharekar
2D Artist :
Vilas Kailas Khiradkar
2D Artist :
Sudhir Balaram Jadhav
2D Artist :
Rohit Dinkar Kale
2D Artist :
Riddhi Sinha
2D Artist :
Nitin Yashwant Thorat
2D Artist :
Hrushikesh Kadu
2D Artist :
Bhushan Sanjay Tawade
2D Artist :
Arulraj Giriraj
2D Artist :
Anilkumar Chauhan
2D Artist :
Amara Gokul Sainath
2D Artist :
Aditya Shrikant Salunkhe
2D Artist :
Putta Mahesh
2D Artist :
Dhundappa Kallappa Pattan
2D Artist :
Sikandar Shaikh
2D Artist :
Sagar Dasgaonkar
2D Artist :
Ajay S Kumbhar
2D Artist :
Ashish Bhanage
2D Artist :
Anuj Pathania

Need a credit fix? Contact the Creativity Editors

Project Type